Guide to Showjumping

There are two sets of medals available for showjumping (or jumping as it is referred to at an Olympic Games and the World Equestrian Games) - individual and team. The main characteristics of jumping are speed, agility and accuracy of both the rider and the horse.

Penalties are awarded for a knock-down or refusal (4), per second over time (1), with two refusals or a fall resulting in elimination. 


The team competition is decided by the combined score of the three best placed riders (from a team of four), with the lowest combined score the winning team. 


All riders complete one round; those competitors with the same number of faults are placed equal. The competition counts for qualification to the individual final and decides the jumping order for the team competition. 


This takes place over two rounds, with only the top ten teams going through to the second round. A team's score is decided by taking the best three scores out of four. 


This also takes place over two rounds; it is not against the clock but does have a maximum time allowance, with jump-off for equally placed riders. Riders carry their previous scores forward with the best placed thirty-five competitors contesting the first round. The top twenty competitors go through to the final (with only three combinations per nation able to contest the Individual Final). 

For more information visit the Rio 2016 Hub


The team competition is decided by the combined scores of the three best placed riders (from a team of four) in each of the team rounds. 


This class helps to determine the starting order for Round One of the Team competition. The competitor with the lowest number of points will be given zero penalties, with the remaining riders awarded penalties representing the difference in points between them and the leading rider. 


A two round competition (A&B), not against the clock, both individuals and teams start in reverse order of classification from the Speed competition. This round decides the fifty individual athletes and the top ten teams who will progress through to the second round. 


A two round competition, not against the clock, open to the top fifty individual athletes and the ten best placed teams from Round One. All participants carry their penalties forward from Round One and start in reverse order of final placing in the first round; the winning team is the one with the lowest combined penalty score from the three best scores from Rounds One and Two. If there is an equality of scores a jump-off is used to determine final team placings. 


A two round competition (A&B) contested by the top twenty-five riders (the combined score from Rounds One and Two) and is not against the clock.

Round A sees competitors compete in reverse order (based on penalties incurred in Rounds One and Two); Round B sees competitors start in reverse order of penalties awarded in Round A, as well as in Rounds One and Two. 

Individual placings are determined by adding together the penalties incurred in Round One, Round Two and Rounds A & B of the individual competition. The competitor with the lowest penalties wins; if there is an equality of scores a jump-off is used to determine final team placings.


Teams are made up of a maximum of four combinations per nation; the three best scores from the first competition and each round of the second competition count towards the team result. All four rounds count towards qualification for the ‘final four’ individual competition.


All competitors compete one round against the clock over a course of obstacles.


All athletes compete an Individual and Team qualifying round before the top ten best teams and the top 50 placed athletes go forward to compete the second Individual qualifier and the Team final. The team result is calculated by adding together the three best placed athlete scores after the first and second qualifying competitions (and both rounds from the second competition).


The top thirty athletes (after the first and second competitions) go forward to compete in the third individual qualifying phase. The Final Four are decided after this round. 


The individual final – the ‘final four’ – sees all athletes complete four rounds; completing one round with their own horse, and the remaining three rounds with the other three qualified riders horses.  Riders do not compete against the clock (but there is a time allowed); the rider with the lowest penalties after the four rounds have been jumped is declared the winner. If there is equality in points after the four rounds, the individual medal will be decided using the final standing of competitors after the final individual qualifier.


The Furusiyya FEI Nations Cup Jumping series, jumping has hosted the longest running series having been started in 2004. In 2013 the format changed to divide the world into six regions for the purpose of qualifying teams for a world final.

Team GBR compete in the Europe region which is further divided in to Divisions 1 (competed at CSIO5* level) and Division 2 (competed at CSIO3*, 4* or 5* level). The other regions are; North and Central America & Caribbean, South America, Middle East, Asia/Australasia and Africa.

The Nations Cup jumping series host qualifiers throughout the season where points are won to be able to qualify teams for the world final. Up to 10 nations are permitted to compete at a Nations Cup.


Points can only be won at four of the competitions and every nation must declare which qualifiers will count as their points scoring competition before the start of the series. (GBR are permitted to compete at other Division 1 competitions, events in bold are the events which GBR are eligible to win points at)

Nations Cup Events in 2016:

From To Event
27 April 1 May CSIO5* Lummen (Belgium)
12 May 15 May  CSIO5* La Baule (France)
26 May  29 May  CSIO5* Rome (Italy)
2 June  5 June CSIO5* St. Gallen (Switzerland)
22 June  26 June  CSIO5* Rotterdam (Netherlands)
7 July  10 July  CSIO5* Falsterbo (Sweden)
20 July  24 July  CSIO5* Dublin (IRL)
28 July 31 July  CSIO5* Hickstead (GBR)
22 Sept 25 Sept CSIO5* Barcelona (Spain) - Series Final

Similarly with Division 2, only four competitions carry point scoring opportunities for each nation.  If a nation is qualified to compete in Division 1 they also have the opportunity to send teams to Division 2 events but do not pick up points. 

Nations Cup Events in 2016:

From To Event
5 May  8 May CSIO4* Linz-Ebelsburg (Austria)
12 May 15 May CSIO4* Celje (Slovenia)
18 May  22 May  CSIO4* Odense (Denmark)
24 May  29 May  CSIO4* Lisbon (Portugal)
9 June  12 June  CSIO4* Sopot (Poland)
14 July  17 July  CSIO4* Budapest (Hungary)
24 August  29 August  CSIO4* Gijon (Spain)

For GBR to qualify for the Nations Cup final we must finish in the top seven teams in Division 1 on points scored throughout the season. In total 18 teams compete at a Nations Cup final; the final sees three competitions take place – visit the FEI website for more information on the Jumping Nations Cup including the final.

For more information visit the Nations Cup Hub


Visit the British Showjumping website for more information about the sport

Visit the FEI website for more information about the different disciplines and events